Saina Nehwal was born on 17 March 1990 to Harvir Singh Nehwal and Usha Rani Nehwal,a Jat family in Hisar. Her father worked in CCS HAU. She started her schooling from Campus School CCS HAU, Hisar. They later shifted to Hyderabad which is also their current residence. Besides badminton Saina is a brown belt in Karate. Saina completed her schooling from St. Ann’s College Mehdipatnam, Hyderabad.

Saina is an Indian professional singles badminton player. Sania, the former world no. 1 has won over 23 international titles, which also includes ten Super series titles. She gained her career best ranking of No.1 in 2015 for which she had to wait for six years following her ranking No.2 in 2009, She is the only Indian female badminton player and second Indian ever to gain this feat. She has represented India three times in the Olympics, winning bronze medal in her second appearance.

Nehwal has achieved several milestones in badminton for India. She is the only Indian to have won at least a medal in every BWF major individual event, namely the Olympics, the BWF World Championships, and the BWF World Junior Championships. She is the first Indian badminton player to have won an Olympic medal, along with being the only Indian to have won the BWF World Junior Championships or to have reached to the final of the BWF World Championships. In 2006, Nehwal became the first Indian female and the youngest Asian to win a 4-star tournament. She also has the distinction of being the first Indian to win a Super Series title. In the 2014 Uber Cup, she captained the Indian team and remained undefeated, helping India to win bronze medal. It was India’s first medal in any BWF major team event. She is a role model to many young badminton players.

She is the badminton Icon of India and is credited for the increasing the popularity of badminton in India. In 2016, the Government of India Rewarded Saina with the Padma Bhushan – India’s third highest civilian award. Previously, the nation’s top two sporting honours, namely the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and the Arjuna Award, were also awarded to her by the Government of India.